2013 MRRL Voting Results

The Michigan Rock and Roll Legends web site is proud to announce the results of the 2013 online vote that closed on the stroke of midnight on June 1st. The newest Hall of Fame inductees include Escanaba’s Riot Squad, who received the greatest number of votes in this year’s balloting. The Five Emprees from Benton Harbor, Frijid Pink from Detroit, the Motor City’s Anita Baker, Saginaw’s Cherry Slush, and Parliament/Funkadelic and Joey Day & The Dares, both from Detroit, were also voted in this year. All inductees received 2% or more of the total votes cast.


This year’s Honorary Inductees, Saginaw area DJs Bob Dyer and Dick Fabian, were instrumental in the promotion of Michigan recordings and bands during the 60’s and 70’s. The 2013 inductees bring the total number in the MRRL Hall of Fame to 72.


Ten new Legendary Michigan Songs were also enshrined in this year’s balloting, increasing the total number of honored recordings to 80. The newest additions include the leader in votes; “This Is the Time” by The Sixth Generation, “Crystal Blue Persuasion” by Tommy James & The Shondells, “I Just Want To Celebrate” by Rare Earth, “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg” by The Temptations, “Baby I’m Yours” by Barbara Lewis, “Hollywood Nights” by Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, “Stop! In The Name Of Love by The Supremes, “Let’s Get It On” by Marvin Gaye, “You Are The Sunshine Of My Life” by Stevie Wonder, and “The Tears Of A Clown” by Smokey Robinson & The Miracles. “Rock and Roll Never Forgets” by Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band tied for the final spot in the voting but lost out in a tie-breaker drawing.


Thanks to all the fans of Michigan rock and roll who voted. Written materials about 2013’s inductees and songs will appear on the site as the year progresses. The 2014 balloting will open on January 1st.